Everything you need to know about Kosher and food- Ari Afilalo

Kosher Foods

Kosher foods are common in Jewish. Kosher is a Hebrew word which literally means fit. To consume foods there is a proper law that needs to be followed, especially while eating meat etc. Ari Afilalo is a French Moroccan immigrant and an active member of West Side Sephardic Synagogue. He is a son of a Jewish Moroccan family, ¬†who grew up in France. He lives in NYC and believes in Judaism ideology. So, below we have discussed about kosher food and it’s different types.

  • According to kosher law there some of the foods which are permitted while some are forbidden. All the land animals are permitted to eat while the unhealthy animals and some sea animals are not permitted to eat. For example- pork and shellfish.
  • It is recommended not to mix meat and milk products. To preserve them different utensils are used and a long span is adopted after eating one of the food items.
  • While slaughtering an animal the pain must be minimal, this particular manner is known as Shechitah. The blood must be removed completely before eating them.
  • The fruits, vegetables, and grains are a part of kosher, but those must be insect free. Under the certified kosher wine or grape juice are included.

The Kosher food can be categorized into three categories. They are-

Meat- Soup or gravy and bones are parts of meat according to kosher food. Some of the requirements to consider while having meat as a kosher food are- Kosher meat must come from an animal that chews its cud and has split hooves. For example- goats, sheep, and cows are kosher whereas rabbits, kangaroos, and fox are not). According to the Torah law, names the varieties of fowl which are prohibited, include all predator and scavenger birds. The slaughtering of the animal and fowl must be examined by a skilled shochet with full precision. The one who is extremely trained in the rituals of kosher slaughtering.

Dairy- Products that are made up of milk are classified as dairy products, such as- butter, milk, and yogurt.

Pareve- Foods that are neither meat nor dairy are called pareve. Pareve foods include- fish, fruit, eggs, grains, soft drinks, coffee, unprocessed juices, vegetables, pasta, and tea and many candies and snacks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *